The ACGME’s MUA/P Advisory Group provides consultation for implementing the ACGME’s framework for medically underserved areas/populations (MUA/P) and graduate medical education (GME).

The MUA/P Advisory Group contributes to the development of:

  1. Organizational knowledge of issues related to MUA/P and GME
  2. Outreach to designated institutional officials, program directors, and others
  3. Educational opportunities to facilitate the development of GME in MUA/P

MUA/P Advisory Group Members

Chad Harris, MD
Natividad Medical Center

Paul Foster Johnson, MFA
Vice Chair

Billy Beets, Jr., MD, FAAFP, DABFM
Oklahoma State University
College of Osteopathic Medicine

Jim Clardy, MD
University of Arkansas for
Medical Sciences College of Medicine

Gary Cloud, PhD, MBA
A.T. Still University
Public Member

Michael Dill
Association of American Medical Colleges

Marie Dotseth, MHA
Public Member

Diana Franco, MD
Loyola Medicine/MacNeal Hospital
Resident Member

Thomas Gearan, MD, FACP
Maine Medical Center

Raven Hill, DO
Morehouse School of Medicine
Resident Member

Theresa Nevarez, MD, MBA
Los Angeles County-Harbor-
UCLA Medical Center

Dotun Ogunyemi, MD
Charles R. Drew University College of Medicine

Bridget Thackeray, DO
Texas Institute for Graduate Medical
Education and Research (TIGMER)

Kimberly Thomas, MD, MSPH
Providence Health

Susan Ward-Jones, MD
East Arkansas Family Health Center, Inc.

Ex-Officio Members

Loretta Christensen, MD, MBA, MSJ, FACS
Indian Health Service

Kanta Velamuri, MD
Veterans Health Administration

John Snyder, MD, MS, MPH, FACP
Health Resources and Services Administration

Leith States, MD, MPH
Department of Health and Human Services