Dr. Thomas J. Nasca Receives Distinguished Service Award from The Federation of State Medical Boards

June 25, 2021

ACGME President and Chief Executive Officer Dr. Thomas J. Nasca received the Federation of State Medical Boards (FSMB) 2020 Distinguished Service Award recognizing “the highest level of service, commitment and contribution to the FSMB; the advancement of the profession of medical licensure and discipline; and the strengthening and enhancement of public protection.” Dr. Nasca is one of four 2020 recipients. He was presented the award April 29 during the FSMB 2021 Annual Meeting, after the 2020 Annual Meeting was cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The other 2020 and 2021 recipients include Boyd R. Buser, DO, FACOFP, American Osteopathic Association; Stephen C. Shannon, DO, MPH, American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine; Kathleen Haley, JD, Oregon Medical Board; and Donald H. Polk, DO, FSMB.

The FSMB represents the state medical boards within the United States and its territories. It aims to improve health care through its stated mission of supporting the medical boards “through education, assessment, data, research and advocacy while providing services and initiatives that promote patient safety, quality health care and regulatory best practices.”

View the FSMB press release or the full award presentation video (Distinguished Service Award begins at 11:00 minute mark).