## David C. Leach Award



Named to honor the ACGME's former Executive Director, Dr. David C. Leach (1997 – 2007), and his commitment to resident education and physician well-being, this award recognizes resident/fellow-led projects and innovations.



<u>Laura C. Page, MD</u>
<u>Team Members</u>: Shaina Willen, MD; Alyssa Stephany, MD; Colby Feeney, MD; Victoria Parente, MD, MPH
Pediatric Endocrinology
Duke University Medical Center
Durham, North Carolina

## **About the project:**

"In December 2012, three pediatric residents and one faculty member committed to form a resident-led patient safety council, the Pediatric Resident Safety Council

(PRSC), to promote a culture of safety within the residency program."

"While individual patient care outcomes have not been specifically measured and attributed to this program, there have been multiple protocol adjustments, practice adaptations, and clinical enhancements that directly resulted from the work of the PRSC."

"Prior to the first PRSC meeting, Laura and the team distributed a needs assessment to the pediatric residency program, which included approximately 45 categorical pediatric residents and 24 internal medicine-pediatric residents. The assessment demonstrated that most residents (67%) had never attended a Morbidity and Mortality (M&M) conference and furthermore, most did not feel that their voices were heard surrounding patient safety issues. Based on these results, revitalizing M&M conference was identified as a key priority for the PRSC."

"The PRSC increased the frequency of M&M conferences to every 1-2 months, ensuring that each resident had the opportunity to attend multiple M&M conferences."