## David C. Leach Award



Named to honor the ACGME's former Executive Director, Dr. David C. Leach (1997 – 2007), and his commitment to resident education and physician well-being, this award recognizes resident/fellow-led projects and innovations.



## Sara Hogan, MD, MHS

Team Members: Hans Arora, MD, PhD; Ashley Mohadjer, DO; Amar Gupta, MD; Christina Wong, MD; Marc Monachese, MD; Deepak Ramanathan, MD; So Jin Youn, MD; Amir Syed Shah, MD; Susan Vehar, MD; Katherine Glaser, MD; Charlotte LaSenna, MD; Ryan Berger, MD; Rachel Diehl, MD; Catherine Vozzo, DO; Matthew Hoscheit, MD; Chelsea Feng, MD
Dermatology

Cleveland Clinic Cleveland, Ohio

## About the project:

"The resident-led HSA [created] the Committee for Trainee Well-Being, the Community Engagement Committee and the Quality & Patient Safety Committee."

"The Committee for Trainee Well-Being builds on collaborative efforts with the CC Wellness Institute and Center for Excellence in Healthcare Communication to ensure that wellness resources such as signing up for a primary care physician are purposefully made available to all trainees. In Fall 2017, they hosted a creative art contest where trainees submitted original art, photograph or reflective writing inspired by patient encounters of the practice of healthcare in general. Over 50 submissions were displayed in the House Staff Resource Center and were judged by a panel of residents and attending physician leaders. This committee hosted the first of a series of "Paint with Your DIO" nights, where trainees receive personalized water color painting instruction with the CC's DIO. The HSA Community Engagement Committee addresses connectedness of trainees with fellow CC employees and the surrounding Cleveland community through [various] events. The HSA Quality & Patient Safety Committee identified quality "officers" in over half of the CC's residency programs to galvanize trainee involvement in institutional efforts."