Parker J. Palmer Courage to Teach Award



The Parker J. Palmer Courage to Teach Award honors program directors who find innovative ways to teach residents and to provide quality health care while remaining connected to the initial impulse to care for others in this environment. Parker J. Palmer is the author of the book *The Courage to Teach* and whose promotion of the concept of "living divided no more" has proven relevant to teaching in academic health centers.



Suzanne McLaughlin, MD, MSc

Program Director for Internal Medicine and Pediatrics Alpert Medical School of Brown University Providence, Rhode Island

Nominators had this to say:

"Dr. McLaughlin does a wonderful job as a resident educator. She is always up to date on recent guidelines, knows every hospital resource, available, and provides amazingly timely feedback. I couldn't have asked for a better preceptor or teacher."

"How Sue continues to balance stellar patient care with excellent mentorship and advising continues to be an inspiration. I appreciate her open door policy and constant willingness to engage residents in their concerns. She provides the most comprehensive written feedback of all preceptors via attestation of her notes with specific emphasis on things she would state or structure differently."

"During her time as Program Director, she has advised over 40 residents and is well-known for providing excellent career guidance. She has developed innovative programs, including a board studying program that includes one-on-one advising from test taking specialists and an "Opt-out Counseling" program for interns. She consistently promotes resident interests (forwarding scholarships/grants/pairing research mentors and mentees/making alumni connections) and she is a role model as a leader, known for never losing her "cool". She has also excelled on a national level, as exemplified by her service as the President of the Med-Peds Program Director's Association, as a Councilor for the Association of Program Directors in Internal Medicine and her election to Fellowship in both the American College of Physicians and the American Academy of Pediatrics."