Parker J. Palmer Courage to Lead Award



The Parker J. Palmer Courage to Lead Award honors designated institutional officials (DIOs) who have demonstrated excellence in overseeing residency/fellowship programs at their Sponsoring Institutions. DIOs have authority and responsibility for all graduate medical education programs in a teaching hospital, community hospital, or other type of institution that sponsors such programs. The ACGME congratulates the recipients of the 2017 Courage to Lead Award.



Madeline Erario, MD, FACP Designated Institutional Official Inova Fairfax Medical Campus Falls Church, VA

Nominators had this to say:

"Dr. Erario has developed IFMC from a single sponsor site to an organization with our own residency programs in Pediatrics, General Surgery, Internal Medicine and Ob/Gyn and two ACGME accredited fellowships in Pediatric Emergency Medicine and Surgical Critical Care. Dr. Erario has personally mentored all of our program directors and works closely with them and department chairs ensuring an optimal

learning environment and appropriate resources for all of our trainees. She effectively builds consensus, creates teams with collective goals, ensures resident participation in hospital wide activities and is a fierce advocate for our residents."

"She helped develop and co-sponsor a monthly educational venue (Educational Grand Rounds) specifically for campus trainees with focus on personal and professional development. In addition, Dr. Erario is committed to the promotion of interprofessional teams and their benefit to patient safety. In this effort, she has supported the residency program directors and faculty in advancing multidisciplinary rounds, nursing-resident partnerships and team-based simulation. Resident wellness is a priority for the GME department and after consulting with residents and program directors, a longitudinal wellness program has been implemented which allows a non-lnova specialist to mediate quarterly sessions with resident anonymity."